Site powered by WP Engine MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Sunday, December 16th, 2018

Nature Matters! celebrates County’s South Shore

PEPtBO’s Cheryl Anderson with this year’s edition of the Nature Matters! booklet.

While Mother Nature is expected to bring ice and possibly snow to Prince Edward County this weekend, members and friends of the Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory (PEPtBO) are looking forward to celebrating spring, summer and fall with events in appreciation of nature.

A few of the supporters at the Nature Matters! launch at the Milford branch library on Thursday.

PEPtBO has launched its second annual edition of Nature Matters!, a 56-page booklet featuring local events held by local groups to help celebrate, appreciate and protect the fascinating natural places at and nearby the County’s South

PEPtBO board member Borys Holowacz, who conceived, designed and oversaw the production of the publication, cuts the cake at the Nature Matters! launch Thursday, at the Milford branch library.

Shore.

The County’s South Shore, a designated globally significant Important Bird and Biodiversity Area (IBA), witnesses the migration of millions of birds and thousands of Monarch butterflies each year.

“The area is home to unique communities of plants and animals. Night skies blaze with stars and the events described in Nature Matters! offer opportunities for young and old to visit, learn about and share in the natural beauty of the South Shore,” said Cheryl Anderson, of PEPtBO.

Event listings run from May to October and contain highlights such as the 2018 Spring Birding Festival. PEPtBO will be marking World Bird Day on May 12 with a celebration of all things Swallow.

“The Bird Observatory area is home to breeding Cliff Swallows, Tree Swallows, Barn Swallows, Rough winged Swallows and Purple Martins,” said Anderson. “In 2017 we erected an alternate Barn Swallow nesting structure with the help of the wood working students at PECI. On Swallow Day we will have Swallow games and crafts for the kids and naturalist Terry Sprague will tell us all about these amazing insect eaters.”

The Festival also includes a variety of Bird Observatory guided birding hikes and hikes throughout the County led by members of the Prince Edward County Field Naturalists.

Anderson notes the Bird Observatory also features a ‘NatureHood’ program that hosts classes from local and regional elementary and secondary schools with programs geared to curriculum topics. Teachers are encouraged to contact PEPtBO about class visits and transportation stipends that are available.

Nature Matters! booklets are being distributed at various locations throughout the County and it is also available on the PEPtBO website (click here).

SUMMARY OF EVENTS
Wed May 2 – Dear Insects: Be Friends, Not Foes (Stone Soup Guild, p. 4)
Sat May 5 – 12:01 AM to Sun, May 6, 4 PM – Kiwanis Walleye World Fishing Derby (Kiwanis Club, p. 6)
May 12-21 – Spring Birding Festival (Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory (PEPtBO), Main Events p. 8)
Sat & Sun May 12 & 13 – Guided Bird Walks at the Observatory (PEPtBO, p. 9)
Sun to Fri., May 13-18 – Guided Trips (PEPtBO, p. 10)
Mon to Fri May 14-18 – Birding Excursions Around the County (Prince Edward County Field Naturalists, p. 14)
Sat & Sun May 19 & 20 – Guided Bird Walks at the Observatory (PEPtBO, p. 9)
Mon May 21 – Birding the South Shore IBA, (PEPtBO, p. 8)
Sun May 13 – Mother’s Day Spring Celebrations (Sandbanks Provincial Park, p. 12)
Sun May 20 – Victoria Day Century Ride (Bloomfield Bicycle Club, p. 16)
Mon May 21 – 23rd Annual Black River Canoe Trip (St. Philip’s Anglican Church, p. 18)
Sat May 26 – Heroes and Legends in South Bay Cemetery (Suzanne Pasternak, p. 20)
Sun June 3 – 25 Years Ago, 25 Years Ahead – a Celebration! (Milford Branch Library, p. 21)
Sat & Sun June 9 & 10 – BioBlitz 2018 (Prince Edward County Field Naturalists, p. 22)
Sat June 16 – Rock Hound Fossil Hunt (Half Moon Bay Winery, p. 24)
Sat June 30 – Honey & Herb Day (Honey Pie Hives and Herbals, p. 26)
Fri evenings in July & August – Graveyards & Gallows Walking Tour (Macaulay Heritage Park Museum, p. 31)
Sat July 7 – Fish Fry at Mariners Park Museum (PEC Museums, p. 32)
Sat July 14 – Point Traverse Lighthouse Walk (Save Our Lighthouses, p. 34)
Sun July 22 – Music at Port Milford Concert (Port Milford Music Camp, p. 36)
Sat & Sun Aug 4 & 5 – South Shore Stroll (South Shore Joint Initiative, p. 37)
Sun Aug 5 – Music at Port Milford Concert (Port Milford Music Camp, p. 36)
Sat Aug 11 – Fish Fry at Waupoos for Rose House Museum (PEC Museums, p. 40)
Mon Aug 13 – Flying Nature Hike (Fuller Native and Rare Plants, p. 42)
Mon Aug 20 – Wed Oct. 31 mornings – Fall Migration Bird Banding at the Observatory (PEPtBO, p. 44)
Sat Sept 15 – Kids, Build a Bird Feeder (Milford Fair, p. 46)
Sat Sept 22 – Rock Hound Fossil Hunt (Half Moon Bay Winery, p. 24)
Sun Sept 23 – Fri Oct. 12 – Migration Matters Fall 2018 Main Events (PEPtBO, p. 44)
Sun Sept 23 – Fall Warbler Identification Workshop (PEPtBO, p. 44)
Thurs to Sat Oct 4-6, 11-13, 18-20 (8:15-9:15 PM) – Saw-whet Owl Banding (PEPtBO, p. 44)
Sat Oct 6 – Guided Bird Walk at the Observatory (PEPtBO, p. 44)
Sat Oct 13 – Guided Bird Walk at the Observatory (PEPtBO, p. 44)
Sat & Sun Oct 6 & 7 – Scarecrow Festival (Small Pond Arts, p. 48)
Fri Oct. 12 (Sat Oct 13 rain date) – Chart the Dark Sky 7:15 PM sharp (PEPtBO, p. 50) followed by
Fri Oct 12 – Saw-whet Owl banding demonstration 8:15-9:15 PM (PEPtBO, p. 44)

Filed Under: Featured Articles

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
FIRE
SCHOOL
Neil Ellis Todd Smith
Bay of Quinte Mutual Bay of Quinte RAP
County Traders Eurotech

HOME     LOCAL     MARKETPLACE     COMMUNITY     CONTACT US
© Copyright Prince Edward County News countylive.ca 2018 • All rights reserved.