All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Wednesday, June 12th, 2024

Coalition of ‘Unwilling Host’ grows to 71

unwilling-hostsOver the past week, the number of ‘Unwilling Host’ municipalities has grown to 71 – a figure that has more than doubled since the provincial government announced in late May it was going to address municipal concerns with the wind turbine program.

Robert Quaiff, Prince Edward County representative to the Wainright municipal group of Unwilling Host municipalities committee said two more councils, Greater Napanee and West Elgin, are also expected to consider related resolutions at meetings this week.

In a statement, the group said the growing opposition is a response to activities by wind turbine companies in areas not previously affected by projects and an understanding that Ontario does not need more electricity at this time.

“Municipalities are seeing the impact of existing turbines on their communities or their neighbours and do not want the same things to happen in their municipality,” the statement says. “The government’s proposals for community benefit programs and community sponsorship do not address the core problems being created when wind turbines are located too close to people.”

“Municipalities are looking for solutions to the real problems, not public relations gimmicks,” says April Jeffs, Wainfleet mayor.

“CanWEA has organized a conference in Toronto this week with no representatives of ‘Unwilling Host’ municipalities invited to provide an alternate perspective in any of their panel discussions. The conference is essentially the wind industry talking to itself.”

While the government held many consultations over the summer months, the meetings were focused in urban areas and none were scheduled in areas where turbines are operational or proposed.

“The government has indicated that an announcement regarding the guidelines for new large-scale FIT projects is planned for the end of October or in early November,” said Kevin Marriott, mayor of Enniskillen. “Municipalities are looking for real planning authority for wind turbines to be returned to local governments.

“Municipalities are better placed than Queen’s Park civil servants to identify local issues that need to be addressed in reviewing wind turbine projects. They also have processes in place to review and approve other complex or controversial building projects within their jurisdiction. These municipalities are also looking for the government to follow up on the health complaints being filed with Medical Officers of Health and for the MOE to stop denying that there are problems with excess audible and low frequency noise and actually enforce their noise standards.”

The Coalition of ‘Unwilling Hosts’ grew out of a meeting of municipal officials held during this summer’s AMO conference in Ottawa.

Municipalities that have Declared themseleves “Unwilling hosts”

Township of Alnwick-Haldimand
Township of Amaranth
Town of Amherstburg
Township of Arran-Elderslie
Township of Asphodel-Norwood

Township of Billings
Town of Blue Mountains
Municipality of Bluewater
Municipality of Brockton
Township of Brooke-Alvinston
County of Bruce

Township of Cavan-Monaghan
Municipality of Central Huron
Town of Centre Wellington
Municipality of Calvin
Township of Chatsworth
Township of Chisholm
Municipality of Clarington
Township of Clearview

Township of Dawn-Euphemia

Township of East Garafraxa
Township of East Zorra-Tavistock
Township of Enniskillen

Township of Georgian Bluffs
Municipality of Grey Highlands
Town of Grand Valley

County of Haldimand
Township of Hamilton
Township of Howick
Municipality of Huron East
Township of Huron-Kinloss

City of Kawartha Lakes
Municipality of Kincardine

Municipality of Lambton Shores

Township of Madawaska Valley
Town of Mapleton
Municipality of Meaford
Township of Melancthon
Township of Mulmur
Municipality of Middlesex Centre
Township of Minto
Municipality of Morris-Turnberry

County of Norfolk
Township of North Dundas
Township of North Huron
Municipality of North Middlesex
Municipality of North Perth
Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula
Township of Norwich

Village of Oil Springs

Town of Petrolia
Township of Perth East
Township of Perth South
Town of Plympton-Wyoming
Municipality of Powassan
Prince Edward County

Town of Saugeen Shores
Township of St. Clair
Township of South Algonguin
Municipality of South Bruce
Municipality of South Bruce Peninsula
Municipality of South Dundas
Municipality of South Huron

Township of Tiny
Municipality of Trent Hills

Township of Wainfleet
Township of Warwick
Township of Wellington North
Municipality of West Grey
Township of West Lincoln
Municipality of West Perth

Filed Under: Local News

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.