All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Saturday, June 15th, 2024

County FM surpasses $64,000 radiothon fundraising goal

With more than $65,000 in donations received, this year’s eighth annual 99.3 County FM radiothon June 2-5 exceeded its $64,000 goal to keep the non-profit, community, volunteer-driven radio station on-air. More than one third of the station’s annual income comes from donations and grants.

“We built this station to be there for the community in times of need, and it’s so wonderful to see that sentiment reflected back from the community, supporting the station when we ask for help,” said JJ Johnston, County FM chair. “A big thank you to all our donors, sponsors, volunteers and advertisers. County FM is an essential service, and we strive to put the very best possible broadcast on the air, 24/7/365.”

The station’s general manager Craig Mills said the radiothon was the culmination of months of planning.

“So many people worked hard to make this happen – County FM staff, volunteers, musicians who donated their time, all of our matching donors and sponsors, Megan Hutton co-ordinating all the musicians along with Pearl Hucul and Pat Larkin and Greg Sorbara as honourary chair.”

The event featured live performances at the studio and on air.

“By the end of the weekend we were able to announce $50,000 in donations, and it’s been great to see the further donations that have come in via online and mail since then to bring us to our goal.”

Following restrictions of the two-year COVID-19 pandemic, this event saw a return of live-to-air performances by local musicians from the County FM studio on Cold Storage Road.

Entertainers over the four days included: Andrew McLuhan, Annelise Noronha, Astrid Young, Becky Gilbert, Benni Vander and Alison Burke, Brian Legere, Caleb Hutton, Cameron & Cameron, Chris Bonham-Carter, Chris Loane, Craig Foster, Craig McRae, Cue the Funk, Danielle Edwards, David James Allen, Elmwood Harmony, Flatlander, Gavin Massey, Greg Hinde, Jenica Rayne, Jeremy Kelly, Jordan Thomas, Justin Rutledge, KASHKA, Kevin Weaver, Kyra and Tully, Lenni Stewart, Lyle Cole, Mark Despault, Megan Hutton, Mike Farrell, MISS EMILY, Pete Mannheim, Peter Rea, Peter Solmes, Randy Stewart, Seventh Town, Shawn Dore, Siobhan Bodrug, Telegraph Narrows, The Frere Brothers, The Zabacks, Tony Forbes, and Villas.

Filed Under: cheersNews from Everywhere Else

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.