All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Tuesday, July 16th, 2024

County racers right on track at Speedway’s fan appreciation night

No. 91 Kraig Handley, of Picton,  hits the victory lane for the first time 2018, dominating the field in the Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust Canadian Modified Division at Brighton Speedway on Saturday, Aug. 11th. Rod Henderson photo

Brighton Speedway’s final fan appreciation night of 2018 hosted a full grandstand with more than 60 cars dialed in for heart-pumping racing action.

In support of the Canadian National Autism Foundation, fans had the opportunity to meet drivers track side at intermission for autographs, pictures and candy.

Sandercock secures second Triple Crown
No. 57 Charlie Sandercock and No. 46 Brandon Mowat led the Vanderlaan Building Products Late Models to green in the 35-lap Hotch’s Auto Parts Triple Crown Race 3.
From the drop of the green flag, the pair stomped on the gas, waging a thrilling side by side battle with No. 89 Adam Turner chasing close behind.

A five-car pileup at the back on the first lap quickly slowed the action. On the restart Mowat worked the cushion on a tacky track to try and move past Sandercock. It seemed to work for him but then on the 8th time by, the 57 machine took off, leaving Mowat and Turner in a battle for second.

No. 12 Kyle Sopaz flexed his muscle to settle in to second as three more cautions slowed the pace. With two laps to go, Sandercock took off again and never let off the throttle sailing to victory lane, securing his fifth season win. Sopaz and Turner had the best battle of the event as the two raced back and forth for the runner-up spot. Turner took second, Sopaz in third almost at the line, Mowat placed fourth and No. 5 Steve Baldwin earned fifth.

Handley ends season drought
No. 37 Ronald Linde and No. 14 Brandt Graham took the field of OilGARD Anti-Rust Canadian Modifieds to the green flag in the 25-lap feature. From his third starting position, No. 91 Kraig Handley muscled his way to the top on lap three.

Once in the lead, Handley never relinquished the point determined to earn his first second win as No. 39 Jonah Mutton, No. 32 Doug O’Blenis, No. 12 Adam Whaley and No. 87 Andrew Hennessy challenged Linde from behind. In a bold move, the pair drove hard from either side of Linde making it three wide on turn one as they snapped second and third setting their sights on Handley.

With Linde now out of the way, a caution eventually slowed the pace on the 13th lap giving Mutton, Whaley, Hennessy and O’Blenis the chance to catch up to Handley. But the No. 91 was untouchable. Handley took off again to a dominating first place finish with Mutton earning second. Whaley placed third, Hennessy in fourth and No. 07 Curtis King took home fifth.

Anderson racks up another win
The Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock feature was led to green No. 29 Brian Mitts and No. 46 Adam Switzer. No. 53 Wade Purchase was quick to pounce on the lead on the first lap of the 20-lap feature. The move kicked off the beginning of an exhilarating feud for first between Purchase, No. 51 Mike Freeman, No. 48 Adam Wells and No. 03 Justin Ramsay.

The four went at it as No. 72 Doug Anderson stormed his through the pack from his 13th starting position to join the fight on the 8th time by. Anderson waged a door to door war with Wells before a caution reset the field. Anderson jumped on the lead as Purchase tried to get it back. The pair duked it out for six laps with Anderson cruising to victory lane leaving Purchase to settle for second. Ramsay picked up third, Freeman fourth and Wells placed fifth.

Moore earns one more
No. 52 Doug Galt and No. 17E Emily Peterson ran the field of Bill John’s Comp 4s to the green flag in the 15-lap main event. Both eager to return to victory lane, No. 14 Matthew Moore and No. 0 Tyler French wasted little time working their way into the top three. On the fourth lap Moore and French engaged in dramatic side by side duel. French lost control off of turn two pushing him back three spots as Moore took off.

French worked hard to regain runner up but when the checkers flew, Moore had won his second season win. French placed second, No. Adam Flieler earned third, No. 50 Willy Bulten took home fourth and No. 43 Devon Kippen secured fifth.

Gregory takes Thunder Stock Mechanics Race
The mechanics behind the Thunder Stock cars got their chance behind the wheel for the 10-lap race at the end of the night. Brandon Gregory drove Brain Mitts No. 29 to victory lane ahead of Adam Davidson in the No. 19 and Kyle Anderson in the No. 72.

French Finishes First in Comp 4 Mechanics Race
Comp 4 mechanics were also awarded with the opportunity to hit the track Saturday for a 10-lap feature. Josh French parked his brother Tyler French’s No. 0 in victory lane ahead of Jamie Sandercock in the No. 17E and Travis Mclean in the No. 43.

Next week at Brighton:
Pinty’s and Sticker Revival presents the Action Sprint Tour, crate engine sprint cars touring from Ohsweken Speedway, plus a complete race program featuring Vanderlaan Building Products Late Model Division, Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust Canadian Modified Division, Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock Division and Bill’s John Comp 4 Division. Races will Start at 7 p.m. and adult admission is $15.

Brighton Speedway is a 1/3-mile clay stock car racing oval located on the shores of Lake Ontario in Brighton. The speedway hosts five weekly stock car divisions on Saturday nights and youth Go-Kart racing on Thursday nights from May to September.

Brighton Speedway Top Five Race Results 8/11/2018

Vanderlaan Building Products Late Model Division
Feature: 1. Charlie Sandercock (Trenton, On), 2. Adam Turner ( Picton, On ), 3. Kyle Sopaz ( Carrying Place, On ), 4. Brandon Mowat (Brighton, ON), 5. Steve Baldwin (Trenton, ON)

Bainer’s OilGARD Canadian Modified Division
Feature: 1. Kraig Handley ( Picton, On), 2. Jonah Mutton (Brighton, ON), 3. Adam Whaley (Frankford, On ), 5. Andrew Hennessy ( Picton, On)

Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock Division
Feature: 1. Doug Anderson (Quinte West, On), 2. Wade Purchase (Demorestville, On), 3. Justin Ramsay (Belleville, On), 4. Adam Wells (Madoc, On) 5. Mike Freeman (Brighton, On)

Bill’s Johns Comp 4 Division
Feature: 1. Matthew Moore (Port Hope, On), 2. Tyler French (Belleville, ON), 3. Adam Flieler (Trenton, ON), 4. Willy Bulten (Trenton, ON), 5. Devon Kippen (Trenton, ON)


Filed Under: News from Everywhere ElseSports & Recreation

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.