All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Saturday, February 24th, 2024

County welcomes new mayor and council – video

A focus on escalating costs and affordable housing tops the list of concerns for Prince Edward County’s new mayor.
At the new council’s inaugural meeting Monday night, Peter Mertens applauded the work of the previous council in seeing major projects come to fruition – including the Wellington and District Community Centre and the wastewater treatment plant at Picton. He expects 2011 will bring a break from major spending and a hold costs.
“The time has come for us to stop and take a break. 2011 will be a year to re-trench and take stock. We must learn to do more with less. In 2011 we will not seek more from our taxpayers than in 2010.
“We have many people that are being left behind. The Wellington food bank is currently helping 75 families with 53 children in total. This is triple the same time last year,” said Mertens. “Many of the additions to this caseload are seniors.  Seniors who cannot manage accommodation and related costs. Many of them are using room heaters because they cannot afford both hydro and fuel bills.  We have a housing crisis. Our own affordable housing group has clearly identified the need for affordable housing for a broad range of residents from young singles, to young families to seniors. They will soon present their findings for action.
“We are a community of caring people. We must make sure no one is left behind,” said Mertens.
Justice of the Peace Ernie Parsons administered the oath of allegiance and declaration of office to the mayor and councillors.
Mayor Mertens was presented his gown and invested with the chain of office by past mayor Leo Finnegan.
Municipal Council 2010-2014
Mayor Peter Mertens
Picton: Bev Campbell and Brian Marisett
Bloomfield: Barry Turpin
Wellington: Jim Dunlop
Ameliasburgh: Janice Maynard, Nick Nowitski, Dianne O’Brien
Athol: Jamie forrester
Hallowell: Heather Campbell and Keith MacDonald
Hillier: Alec Lunn
North Marysburgh: Robert Quaiff
South Marysburgh: Barbara Proctor
Sophiasburgh: Kevin Gale and Terry Shortt.

Filed Under: Local News


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.