All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Tuesday, May 21st, 2024

Double checkers for Andrew Hennessy

No. 87 Andrew Hennessy led the field of Bainer’s OilGARD Canadian Modifieds to green in the 25-lap feature at Brighton Speedway Saturday, August 10th to secure his first of two checkered flags for the night. – Photo by Rod Henderson,

Another warm summer night provided the perfect back drop for a full night of racing action at Brighton Speedway Saturday night.

Pole position was the place to be for No. 87 Andrew Hennessy as he wheeled both a Late Model and Canadian Modified to victory lane.

Hennessy took off at the drop of the green flag in the Vanderlaan Building Products 30-lap main event and he never gave it up even as team mate No. 57 Charlie Sandercock fought fiercely from behind. Sandercock worked the high-side and on the 12th time by started to reel the 87 in. Lapped traffic slowed the pace but it didn’t keep Hennessy from scoring his second feature of night, leaving Sandercock to settle for second. No. 77 Caley Weese was third, No. 1 Andy Mayhew fourth and No. 09 Robbie Wilson fifth.

Hennessy also led the field of Bainer’s OilGARD Canadian Modifieds to green in the 25-lap feature. He took off and rode to victory lane for his sixth time this year uncontested. Try as he might to catch up, Hennessy left too much of a gap in his wake, forcing No. 39 Jonah Mutton to take home runner-up honours. No.32 Doug O’Blenis was third, No. 03 Nathan Rinaldi fourth and No. 29 Rich Sanders fifth.

Purchase at victory lane
Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock No. 85 Austin Reid took off from his pole position and looked like he was going to secure his fourth win of the season in 25-lap Larry’s Towing Triple Crown Race 3.

In a battle for the lead, there was contact between Reid and Ramsay forcing the 85 to the back. On the restart Ramsay and No. 53 Wade Purchase went wheel to wheel. With less than 5 laps left, Purchase took the lead and never relinquished the point scoring his second win of 2019. Ramsay took second, No. 48 Adam Wells third, No. 72 Doug Anderson fourth and No. 0 Tyler French fifth.

Rick “Ricky Bobby” Phillips wheeled the No. 25 Excel Tower Service ’69 Cougar to Brighton Speedway as he mastered the nine-car field of OSCAAR Hot Rods during their 20-lap main event last Saturday night. – Photo by Rod Henderson,

Checkers fly for Philips
Rick “Ricky Bobby” Phillips brought his shake and bake to Brighton Speedway as he mastered the nine-car field of OSCAAR Hot Rods during their 20-lap main event. Phillips wheeled the No. 25 Excel Tower Service ’69 Cougar tight to the inside line with No. 2 Tyler Hawn’s ’67 Beaumont on the outside for much of the thrilling affair. The crowd cheered as Phillips rode hard to victory lane with No. 64 Logan Shwedyk in second, No. 88 Jeremy McLean third, Hawn fourth and No. 47 Steve Book fifth.

Kippen rides to victory lane again
Bill’s John’s Comp 4 No. 43 Kippen took little time to jump into the lead from his ninth starting position and flew to the finish first in the 20-lap Lava Clean Triple Crown Race 3 to secure his third win of the season. No. 11 Adam Flieler scored second, No. 44 Tommy Bailey third, No, 13 Joel Dempster fourth, No. 1 Brock Gregory fifth.

A record high attendance in the new Mini Stock division saw visitors from the west No. 19 Kyle Wert from Ohsweken Speedway claiming first place, No. 12 Caleb Severin in second, No. 63 Dave Crumbie of Outlaw Speedway in third, No. 25 Lawrence Evenden in fourth and No. 14m Matthew Moore rounding out the top five.

McCauley and Scott scores checkers
At the drop of the green flag No. 99 Arthur McAuley stomped on the gas and slipped into the lead. He took off in the 12-lap Quinte Septic Senior Stinger affair and parked it in victory lane for the first time in 2019. No. 51 Patrick Easton took second, No. 79 Robert Jenner third, No. 95 Chris Lammle fourth and No. 42 Aiden Fletcher.

No. 44 Rai-Ann Beaudrie took off from the pole and dominated the first half of the Quinte Septic Junior Stinger 12-lap feature. On lap-6 No. 96 Jeff Scott drove hard to the bottom and slipped into the lead. He never looked back as he rode to victory lane for the first time this season. No. 25 Steve Darling was runner-up, No. 37 Terry Blight took third, No. 4 Corey Halbert fourth and No. 35 Taja Farrell Sonneburg fifth.

Insley and Gregory grab mechanics wins
The ever-popular and entertaining mechanics races returned to Brighton Speedway Saturday. The dedicated team members went from turning wrenches to turning 10-laps. No. 13 Steve Insley scored checkers in the Comp 4 main event and No. 1 Brandon Gregory parked it in the Canadian Modified affair.

Coming next Saturday, August 17th Pinty’s and Comfort Zone Heating & Air Conditioning presents the Action Sprint Tour plus a complete race program featuring Vanderlaan Building Products Late Model Hotch’s Auto Parts Triple Crown Race 3, Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust Canadian Modified, Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock and Bill’s Johns Comp 4/Mini Stock. Front Gates open at 5:30 PM, Hot Laps begin at 6pm and the green flag drops at 7pm. Grandstand Admission is $15 for Adults, $13 for Youths & Seniors, $4 for Children 7 to 12 and a Family Pass is $40.

August 10th Top 5 Race Results
Vanderlaan Building Products Late Model Division
1st. No. 87 Andrew Hennessy; 2nd No. 57 Charlie Sandercock; 3rd. No. 77 Caley Weese; 4th. No. 1 Andy Mayhew; 5th. No. 09 Robbie Wilson

Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust Canadian Modified Division
1st. No. 87 Andrew Hennessy; 2nd. No. 39 Jonah Mutton; 3rd. No. 32 Doug O’Blenis; 4th. No. 3 Nathan Rinaldi; 5th. No. 29 Rich Sanders

Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock Division
1st. No. 53 Wade Purchase; 2nd. No. 03 Justin Ramsay; 3rd. No. 48 Adam Wells; 4th. No. 72 Doug Anderson; 5th. No. 0 Tyler French

Bill’s Johns Comp 4 Division
1st. No. 43 Devon Kippen; 2nd. No. 44 Tommy Bailey; 3rd. No. 13 Joel Dempster; 4th. No. 1 Brock Gregory; 5th. No. 19 Jordan Baldwin

Bill’s Johns Mini Stock Division
1st. No 19 Kyle Wert; 2nd. No. 12 Caleb Severin; 3rd. No. 63 Dave Crumbie; 4th No. 25 Lawrence Evenden; 5th. No. 14 Matthew Moore.

Filed Under: News from Everywhere ElseSports & Recreation

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.