All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Friday, December 8th, 2023

Hats off to Prince Edward Collegiate’s Class of 2017

Secondary school diplomas now in hand, 122 Prince Edward Collegiate students are setting their sights on the future.

“We made it!” said valedictorian Noah Mossey, to a full house of family and friends attending the graduation ceremony at the Prince Edward Community Centre. “We have the power, and the ability, to make a difference in the world… make a better place.”

Noah Mossey

Mossey told his peers that no matter the path they choose, the difference they make does not have to be extravagant and elaborate.

“You do not need to rush frantically though life trying to find the right place to make a difference. Opportunities will arise. Watch for them. When they appear, take advantage of them and be a world of change for someone who needs it. Remember how someone made a difference in your life and allow that to be your inspiration, and motivation.”

Mossey was the recipient of subject awards for history, law, Issues of Indigenous Peoples, Canadian and World Issues and two bursary awards.

The graduation honoured 122 graduates, 39 of whom earned standing as Ontario Scholars, having earned an average of 80 per cent or higher in six Grade 12 courses. Arts, business and technology certificates were also presented.

More than 100 subject awards, bursaries and prizes were handed out during the ceremony.

Kieran McKenzie with principal Darren McFarlane.

Kieran McKenzie received the Governor General’s Academic Medal for highest academic standing. Above and beyond subject awards for Co-operative Education, Advanced Placement English, Functions, Biology and Physics, McKenzie was back on stage as recipient of six awards and scholarships honouring high achievement.

Esther Prinzen with principal Darren McFarlane.

Esther Prinzen was honoured for exemplary volunteer work in the community, receiving the Lieutenant Governor’s Community Volunteer Award. Prinzen also received Ontario Principals’ Council Award for Student Leadership, the Order of the Eastern Star Award, the PEC Community Care for Seniors Foundation Maureen Finnegan Award, and a Students’ Council Citizenship Award.

Casey Hegador with Sharon Lafferty Roberts, receiving the MP Neil Ellis Citizenship Award

Casey Hegadorn received the MP Neil Ells Citizenship Award for exemplary service to school and community. She shared the Prince Edward County Memorial Hospital Auxiliary Award with Tessa Brant, Lynsey Corbin and Allison Hegadorn and the Ryan Hennessy County Scholarship, with Andrew Foster and Allison Hegadorn; and a Salt of the Earth Award with Brooke Deal, Codie Goodman and Ruth Laliberte.

Lynsey Corbin received the Virginia Cowan Memorial Bursary from Sally and Emily Cowan.

The Virginia Cowan Memorial Bursary was presented to Lynsey Corbin for participation in school life, sports and community. She also received the Jacor Marketing Award, the Ira and Eleanor Sharpe Memorial Award and the Canadian Federation of University Women’s scholarship, as well as a subject award in English.

Abby Terpstra receiving the Rotary – Stark Family Fund Award from Rick Jones.

Abby Terpstra received the Rotary-Stark Family Fund Award with Codie Goodman, Brett Henderson-Kileeg, Meghan Lyons and Christopher Zachariah. She also received the Chuck Slik Memorial Award, the Wilkinson and Company Award and subject awards in Challenge & Change in Society and English.

Codie Goodman receives the Roberts Indigenous Reconciliation Bursary from Bill Roberts.

Codie Goodman also received the The Spencer Scholarship for skills in the arts, the Richard Sutton Memorial Bursary and the Roberts Indigenous Reconciliation Bursary. She received the subject award for Drama.

Iain Cameron receives the OSSTF Student Recognition Award, from his dad, Hugh Cameron.

Teacher Hugh Cameron was pleased to present his son Iain with the OSSTF Student Recognition Award for excellence in citizenship, academics and extra-curricular activities. Iain also received the Keitha Gilbert Award for Music, a Students’ Council achievement award and the Chris Lockyer Memorial Award for significant contribution to the music program at the school as well as a subject award for English.

Hugh Cameron was honoured as a Lifetime Panther, with others retiring this year, including Bob Bell, Doug Middleton, Tom Williamson and Denise Reynolds.

Filed Under: cheersFeatured ArticlesHastings & Prince Edward District School BoardPECI - It's a Panther Thing

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Tony Scott Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2023 • All rights reserved.