All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Sunday, February 25th, 2024

Community Celebration honours 25 years of Hospice in Prince Edward


HPE President Birgit Langwisch and HPE president elect Linda Middleton

Dozens of warm hearts gathered to celebrate Hospice Prince Edward’s donors, supportive businesses and incredible, generous volunteers in a “community celebration” honouring 25 years in the community.

There was a feeling of accomplishment that the $875,000 “Lighting the Way” Community Campaign goal had been reached.

“The community’s outpouring of support has resulted in a wonderful community asset that provides comfort, compassion and care to those in need of palliative and bereavement support,” said Mark Davis, campaign chairman.

Birgit Langwisch stepped down from her position as president of the board of directors and Linda Middleton is to take over the position  effective January 1, 2015.

“It’s time for Birgit to have a well earned rest,” said Debbie MacDonald Moynes, Hospice Prince Edward secretary. “She has given us so much.”

“I can tell you that to have been president during this time has been both a tremendous privilege, an enormous challenge, but really a calling,” said Langwisch. “I continue to be amazed when I hear the stories because what Hospice is all about is doing whatever it takes to  make it easier on them, with their families, at this really precious time of life.”

Though the biggest milestone of purchasing the new building at 40 Downes Ave., and the community campaign has been met, there were reminders that there is still much work to do to cover costs of day-to-day maintenance of the building and services in the community, among other items of focus that require the generosity of donors and volunteers.

Councillor Kevin Gale spoke about his father, the late Graham Gale, his diagnosis and the events that followed in  a heartwarming recollection of his father’s journey and the family’s experience with Hospice.


5 year certificate recipients: Annette Gaskin, Stuart Brown and May Jackson (absent: Angela Palmer and Madeline Mulkeen)


May Jackson, last year’s recipient, presents Pat Dye with the June Callwood Award


Tristan Treasure, last year’s recipient presents Marianne Malachowski with the Spirit of Hospice Award along with Joyce Willard, left, and Geri Della Bosca, right.


Hospice community campaign chair Mark Davis with executive director Nancy Parks, president Birgit Langwisch and honorary chair Lyle Vanclief.


Filed Under: Featured Articles

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.