All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Monday, July 22nd, 2024

Seven County reps join Conservation board

Seven Prince Edward County residents will serve on Quinte Conservation’s new board of directors.

Quinte Conservation welcomed 13 new board members at its meeting last Thursday.  New members were appointed by its 18 member municipalities after the election last fall.  Officers of the board were also selected.  The new board ratified the budget of almost $4 million for 2015.

“We have accomplished many projects such as the Big Island Marsh Restoration, creation of an accessible trail and the McLeod Dam Green Energy Hydro Project,” said Terry Murphy, general manager. “We are looking forward to many more successful projects as we welcome our new members on board.  With the passing of the budget at this meeting it’s a good start for 2015.  This is going to be a busy year for Quinte Conservation with work on dams throughout the watershed as well as many education and outreach programs.”

The Quinte Conservation Executive board is made up of three Watershed Advisory Boards; Moira River, Napanee Region and Prince Edward Region.  City of Belleville councillor Jackie Denyes will be chair of the executive board for 2015 and 2016.

Outgoing board members were recognized for their years of service:
Rita Cimprich (Marmora and Lake Municipality)
Egerton Boyce (City of Belleville)
Tom Lafferty (City of Belleville)
Terry Cassidy (City of Quinte West)
Justin Bray (Municipality of Tweed)
Robert Sager (Township of Madoc)
Iain Gardiner (Tyendinaga Township)
Edgar Tumak (Town of Deseronto)
Heather Fox (Central Frontenac Township)
Barb Proctor (County of Prince Edward)
John Drechsler (County of Prince Edward)
George Underhill (County of Prince Edward)
John Thompson (County of Prince Edward)

Listing of current members on the Quinte Conservation Executive Board:
Henry Hogg (Addington Highlands Township)
Mike Kerby (Centre Hastings Municipality)
Jackie Denyes (City of Belleville)
Paul Carr (City of Belleville) *new* (served previously)
Mitch Panciuk (City of Belleville) *new*
Allan DeWitt (City of Quinte West) *new*
Sandy Fraser (Marmora and Lake Municipality) *new*
Jim Flieler (Municipality of Tweed) *new*
Dale Grant (Stirling Rawdon Township)
Carrie Smith (Township of Madoc) *new*
Irene Martin (Tudor and Cashel Township)
Phillip Smith (Central Frontenac Township) *new*
Penny Porter (Loyalist Township)
William Robinson (South Frontenac Township)
John Wise (Stone Mills Township)
Steven Evarhardus (Town of Deseronto) *new*
Roger Cole (Town of Greater Napanee)
Heather Lang (Tyendinaga Township) *new*
Janice Maynard (County of Prince Edward)
    Jim Dunlop (County of Prince Edward)
    Ray Hobson (County of Prince Edward)
    Jamie Forrester (County of Prince Edward) *new*
    John Hirsch (County of Prince Edward) *new*
    Peter Keizer (County of Prince Edward) *new*
    Tom Livingston (County of Prince Edward) *new*

During the inaugural 2015 meeting several Quinte Conservation staff members were recognized for their years of service at the local environmental organization:

David Smallwood, Forestry and Field Operations Manager – 25 years of service
Amy Dickens, GIS Database Specialist – 10 years of service
Mark Boone, Hydrogeologist – 10 years of service
Brad McNevin, Fisheries Biologist and Regulations Officer – 10 years of service
Mary Gunning, Environmental Technician – 5 years of service

Filed Under: Local News


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.