All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Monday, July 15th, 2024

Speedway Race Results

Brought to you through countylive by:

Crashing Excitement at Brighton Speedway Saturday Night!

By Mark Rinaldi – Fans were thrilled not only by the on track action on Saturday night but they were awed when they saw the destruction that Ed and Derek Dekeyser of Dekeyser Excavating could do with their excavators as they competed in their annual Excavator Olympic competition.  Fans also got to enjoy the on track experience during the Brighton Automotive fan appreciation where kids were spoiled with treats and candies from participating drivers.

During the Dekeyser Excavator Olympics Ed and Derek started by playing a game of catch  with a Dodge Dakota Pick-up truck as they tossed it back and forth over top of a motor home in the infield.  Next the two experienced operators each picked up a car, Derek a Pontiac Grand Prix and Ed a Saturn.  When in position the two operators masterfully threw the cars with them colliding in mid air directly over top of the motor home so they would come crashing down on top!  For the last event each operator hooked on either end of what was left of the motor home and ripped it in two to the roar of the crowd.

After Brighton Automotive fan appreciation the track was cleared and set for feature action and the Bill’s Johns Comp 4 were the first to hit the incredible tacky and fast track.  Zac Mcbride (#8) and Derek Greig (#84) would start on the pole position and McBride would jump out to the early lead With Greig chasing him.  The race was fast paced and without a caution making it difficult for point leader Warren Mowat (#46) and last weeks winner Mark Packer (#66) to get through the tough field of 18 Comp 4’s from their starting positions deep in the field.  McBride would pick up his first ever win as he would lead from green to checker followed closely by Greig, Mowat and Packer.

The Vanderlaan’s Building Supplies Late Models were up next and would be sure to thrill the large crowd on hand.  With the points battle heating up between current leader Greg Belyea and 2010 Champion Charlie Sandercock (#57) all eyes were on the two of them as they would have to make a charge from the back. Brandon Mowat (#46) and Beau Brown (#75) would lead them to the green and Mowat would take off to the early lead.  With two and three wide racing in every corner behind him Mowat concentrated on keeping the lead!  However by lap 8 Sandercock, Belyea and Phil Potts (#29) were hot on his tail and would battle fiercely to get around him. Potts would be the first to do so,   Sandercock and Belyea would move around Mowat as well in the coming laps and continue the three way battle for first.  While battling side by side with Sandercock in corner 1 and 2 Potts would get loose and be forced into the infield however at the same time a yellow could come out for a tire on the track so Potts would not lose the top spot.  On the restart Sandercock would get past Potts as the battle resumed until he would break a tire rod going into turn 2 and go over the bank.  This would leave the top two in points on the front row for the restart and they again would run side by side for a number of laps until Belyea was finally able to pull ahead on the high side and once he got into that top spot we would not relinquish it for the rest of the race. Corey Earl (#11) was able to pull off the sleeper move and take second place away from Sandercock on the last lap.  Forth spot went to Andrew Hennessy #87 while fifth went to Kyle Sopaz with a very consistent run.

With weather now threatening the Speedway officials were in a hurry up offence to try and push the last two races through.  The Bainer’s Radiator race hit the track and poll sitter Mat Vanderlinden (#9) took off to an early lead.  Vanderlinden looked to have the race in hand until he got into lapped traffic allowing Dan Ferguson (#11) and Zeke McKeown (#19) to chase him down.  Vanderlinden would make one bad decision and try to take the low line through the lapped traffic while Ferguson took the high line which was the better choice giving him the lead with only three laps left.  The yellow would fly on lap 23 with Ferguson now on the point and Vanderlinden outside of him when the precipitation would start to fall and it wasn’t long before it came down in buckets as the checkered was dropped on lap 23 and Ferguson would get the win followed by Vanderlinden and McKeown.

With the rain falling at 9:35 it was deemed that the night would be ended the 25 lap Brighton Automotive Pro Stock Duel in the Dirt feature will be run this Saturday August 20th for a night of double excitement.  21 cars were on hand for the Pro Stocks and they will have their work cut out for them this week doing double duty.

Be sure to join us this Saturday as Comfort Zone Heating and Air Conditioning presents The Mayors Hospice Cup Challenge.  Mayors from all over Northumberland will be on hand to compete in 11th Annual Mayor’s Cup Challenge. Also this Saturday the Bainer’s Radiator Canadian Modifieds, Brighton Automotive Pro Stocks, Bill’s Johns Comp 4’s and Quinte Towing Stingers hit the track along with Larry’s Towing Spectator 1 on 1 races.  Gates open at 5:30 and races start at 7pm sharp!

Results from August 13th

Bainer’s Radiator Canadian Modified Feature: 1. Dan Ferguson (Bloomfield, ON), 2. Mat Vanderlinden (Trenton, ON), 3. Zeke McKeown (Havelock, ON), 4. Shane Ostrander (Carrying Place, ON), 5. Terry Loxley (Trenton, ON),

Bill’s Johns Comp 4 Feature: 1. Zac McBride (Baltimore, ON), 2. Derrick Greig (Carrying Place, ON), 3. Warren Mowat (Trenton, ON), 4. Mark Packer (Trenton, ON), 5. Nathan Day (Colborne, ON),

Brighton Automotive Pro Stock – Postponed till August 20th

Vanderlaan’s Pro Late Models Feature: 1. Greg Belyea (Frankford, ON), 2. Corey Earl (Picton, ON), 3. Charlie Sandercock (Belleville, ON), 4. Andrew Hennessy (Picton, ON), 5. Kyle Sopaz (Carrying Place, ON)

Driver of the week: Zac McBride #8

Filed Under: News from Everywhere ElseSports & Recreation


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.