All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Sunday, April 21st, 2024

Tinsley, Ellis want to be new riding’s MP

The local Liberals’ new Bay of Quinte Riding Association has launched with a race for leadership.

A slate of 21 directors from across the new riding of Bay of Quinte was appointed to the new association, led by president John Brisbois, former president of the former Prince Edward Hastings Federal Liberal Association.

Peter TInsley

Peter Tinsley

Neil Ellis

Neil Ellis

Former candidate Peter Tinsley announced his intention to run for nomination to represent the riding. And a race is on as Belleville mayor Neil Ellis has also stated he would like to become the new riding’s member of parliament. Tinsley (9,907 votes) ran against Conservative MP Daryl Kramp (27,756 votes) in 2011.

Ron Hartling, president of the Liberal-held Kingston and the Islands riding, presided over the meeting. As Eastern Ontario’s regional president, he noted that the Bay of Quinte Liberals have been doing the work, and have the energy and ability to achieve “lift off” for the 2015 election.

John Brisbois, president

John Brisbois, president

“Liberal governments have acted with the country’s best interests at heart,” said Brisbois, in his address, noting there has never been a commitment for improving the lives of the poor from this Conservative government.

“Coming on the heels of large job cuts announced at Sears in Belleville, there was an even more urgent feeling in the room of the need for a change in government so that middle class Canadians can get the support that they need.”

In February, the association will send local delegates to the Liberal national policy convention in Montreal, where they will vote on policy resolutions that have made their way up from grassroots associations across the country.

Eighteen of the 21 new directors. Photo by Brenda Nielsen

Filed Under: Local News

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.