All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Wednesday, September 27th, 2023

Todd Smith becomes new Trade Minister

Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, congratulates Todd Smith on his appointment

Bay of Quinte MPP Todd Smith will become the new Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade.

Premier Doug Ford met this morning with Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, to share his recommended changes to the Executive Council following the resignation, Friday, of Jim Wilson as Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade. Wilson, 55, has chosen to seek treatment for addiction issues, following allegations that led to an investigation. Multiple news organizations report the allegations involve a complaint of sexual misconduct from a PC party staffer.

“After four months of unprecedented action, we are taking this opportunity to calibrate our cabinet assignments to ensure we continue to deliver on our commitments to the people,” said Ford in a media release. “We have the best team in politics and a plan that is working.”

Following his meeting with the Lieutenant Governor, Ford announced the following changes to ministerial assignments within the cabinet.

The Honourable Todd Smith, MPP for Bay of Quinte, who has been serving as Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade on an interim basis, will assume full-time responsibility for this portfolio in addition to his ongoing responsibilities as Government House Leader.

The Honourable John Yakabuski, MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke, is appointed Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry.

The Honourable Sylvia Jones, MPP for Dufferin-Caledon, is appointed Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services.

The Honourable Jeff Yurek, MPP for Elgin-Middlesex-London, is appointed Minister of Transportation.

The Honourable Michael Tibollo, MPP for Vaughan-Woodbridge, is appointed Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Bill Walker, MPP for Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound, is appointed to cabinet as the Minister of Government and Consumer Services.

The Premier also announced that Lorne Coe, MPP for Whitby, is appointed Government Caucus Whip and Doug Downey, MPP for Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte, is appointed Deputy Government Caucus Whip.

All other Ministerial, Parliamentary Assistant, and Government Caucus and Committee roles remain unchanged.

Filed Under: Local News

About the Author:

RSSComments (4)

Leave a Reply | Trackback URL

  1. Mike Rodgers says:

    A recent study stated that within a short period of time in North America there will a shortage of trades people, from plumbers to machinist. If Smith wants to generate skilled persons in Ont. he needs to do something along these lines. I believe this is how the British Isle did or still do it. During a persons schools years they are given aptitude testing. If the testing shows that they have an aptitude for a certain trade or trades they are asked if they work like to become this trade worker. If the student wants to follow this route their education course are geared toward that trade,Math sciences ETD.Once they completed high school and went on to apprentice in that trade they would have x number of hours already credit toward their apprenticeship making them a journey person earlier
    I think back to when PECI and other area high schools had trade schools within them selves which generated a lot of the trades people we have working in this area.

  2. Chuck says:

    I suspect he views his position as one that serves all of Ontario.

  3. Gary Mooney says:

    Congratulations to Todd on his appointment as Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade.

    I hope that he views his new position as a funnel directing economic development, job creation and trade to the Quinte area, especially PEC.

  4. Snowman says:

    “We have the best team in politics”
    What does that mean? Ford is in governance.
    He was elected to govern The Province of Ontario
    Politics should be left for election campaigns.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Tony Scott Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2023 • All rights reserved.