All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Saturday, February 24th, 2024

36th hole birdie clinches Picton Golf Club championship

Picton Golf & Country Club 2012 Champions Casey Ward (Left) and Larry Powell with club president Dave Mackay (centre)

Brilliant sunshine and calm conditions greeted golfers at the 105th club championship at the Picton Golf and Country Club.   Eighty one golfers teed off in a two day tournament last week.
The men’s’ championship resulted in a thrilling finish when Larry Powell birdied the 36th hole to snatch victory from Peter Cole who had led for the entire tournament.  Cole, a legend at the Picton course for his consistently brilliant play, was awarded the “A flight championship”. Mike Daubney took the B flight awards with Ron Weese and David Forsyth winning the C and D divisions respectively.

The women’s division saw Casey Ward win her seventh consecutive title at the Picton club.  Her three under par score for the tournament was by far the best score by any competitor – male or female –  in the tournament. Ward, who has consistently scored well in tournaments throughout Ontario this summer, took full advantage of the great conditions to put on a clinic for the many spectators who lined the 18th green to watch her come home. Connie Gallagher won the A flight championship while Marcy Daly and Muriel Thibert won the B and C flights.

Club President David Mackay was impressed by the calibre of play throughout the tournament.
“Our course was in great shape and many of our players took full advantage to post some really impressive scores.  Watching Casey Ward play is such a pleasure as she is really a wonderful golfer,” he said.  “However, for great golf drama nothing can touch the last hole of the tournament where Larry Powell pulled out a birdie to win his first men’s’ trophy.”

Top left: Men’s Twilight League champs 2012, Mike Stasiw, Dan Cassidy , Mike Storms, Mike Payette

Top right: Congratulations to the PGCC Women’s Intersectional Team B, winners at Briar Fox on August 24th! Pictured are Marcy Daly, Sandy Young, B J Campbell,Muriel Thibert (Captain), Donna Stever, Faye Towle and Judy Ferguson. Absent – Linda denBoer.

Bottom: Men’s Twilight League Closing Scramble winners, Jeremy Lavender, Brad Van Vlack, Adam Bell, Cory Mitchell

Filed Under: News from Everywhere ElseSports & Recreation

About the Author:

RSSComments (1)

Leave a Reply | Trackback URL

  1. G says:

    Casey is truly an inspiration to all young women AND men aspiring to compete at the top levels in golf. “You go girl!!” Well done and congratulations again.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.