All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Sunday, June 16th, 2024

Service medal ceremony honours County’s dedicated firefighters

Friends, family, co-workers and County staff honoured gave Prince Edward County firefighters a standing ovation at Sunday's long service medal ceremony.

Prince Edward County honoured its firefighters during a medal ceremony Sunday at the Wellington Community Centre to honour long and dedicated service.
While firefighters are assisting others in their time of need, Fire chief Scott Manlow said, “Family, friends and employers are also a vital component of support for our fire department.”
He also thanked employers for allowing firefighters to take time from work to provide the vital service.

Deputy Fire Chief Robert Rutter was the master of ceremonies.

Service awards were presented from all three levels of government. County Mayor Peter Mertens presented 10-year service County pins.
“First response and firefighting is a vital service that’s performed for our residents and our visitors,” Mertens said. “Unfortunately the only time we get to appreciate what they do is when they’re on the job. It’s time to take a moment and thank them for what they do every day. It’s a great organization, a great group of people and the fact that we have peopole getting 10 year pins right up to 40 year pins speaks of the dedication of our fire departments. I congratulate them all.”

Recipients of 10 year pins are: Darren Bedford, John Carter, Bernie Dunphy, Darren Flower, Glenn Guernsey, Andrew Haight, Allen Koopmans, rick Leavitt, Todd Lamorre, Dale Milligan, Andrew Prinzen, David Rallison, Jeff Snider, Al Veltman, Jonathan Wight and David Young.

On behalf of MP Daryl Kramp, Ontario Fire Marshal Fire Advisor Dan Koroscil presented the 20-year service federal medals.

Recipients are: Michael Bond, Michael Branscombe, Craig Burris, Steve Coates, Roger Corbin, Paul Creasy, Vic Estabrooks, Kevin Harrington, Don Leavitt, Tom Lowe, Scott Manlow, Greg O’Hara, Sean O’Hara, Paul Videto, David Wetherall and Sean Whalen.

MPP Todd Smith commended all the County’s 144 firefighters for their dedication on a daily basis, and the firefighters’ spouses for their support. He presented 25-year service provincial medals to firefighters and companion brooches to their spouses.

Recipients are: Carman and Debbie Courneyea, Richard and Heather Doyle, Bruce and Nancy Hoekstra, Terry and Cathy Kewley, Robert and Cathy Manlow, Maurice and Jen Miller, Greg and CJ Moore, Earl and Nancy Munroe, Robert and Christine Rutter, Donald and Anne Williams, Peter and Tracy Williams, L.J. and Lori Wilson, Randy and Trish York and Dale Wood.

Receiving 30-year service federal bars are: Dan Bakker, Bruce Baldwin, Elmer Bentley, Rick Campbell, Peter cole, David Fox, Ken Haight, Walter Haight, Lee Knight, John Mulridge, Don Munro, George Storms, Steve Vickers, Brent Walker and Glendon Walker.

Receiving 35-year service provincial bars from Smith and Koroscil was Richard denOuden. Paul Minaker was unable to attend.

The 40-year service provincial and federal bars were presented to Leonard Bedford, William Bedford and Roger Flower.

Fire Chief Manlow noted his pride “to be part of such an amazing team with a diverse background of knowledge, skills, and abilities. Their passion and their comraderie are evident each and every time they answer the call.”

He closed with the Firefighter’s Prayer:
When I am called to duty, God
whenever flames my rage,
Give me the strength to save some life
Whatever be its age

Help me to embrace a little child
Before it’s too late,
Or some older person
from the horror of that fate.

Enable me to be alert
And hear the weakest shout,
And quickly and efficiently
to put the fire out.

I want to fill my calling
and give the best in me,
To guard my neighbour
And protect his property

And if according to Your will
I have to lose my life,
Please bless with Your protecting hand
My children and my wife.

Filed Under: Featured Articles

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.