All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Saturday, December 9th, 2023

Prince Edward County’s mayor will seek a second term

Steve Ferguson

Prince Edward County Mayor Steve Ferguson will seek a second term in October’s municipal election.

Ferguson filed nomination papers Monday, noting his decision followed consultation with his family, friends and members of the community.

“It goes without saying that the global pandemic has been disruptive for our community, for our municipal staff, and for those of us who were elected to office in 2018. As mayor, I have been honoured to hold this position, and together with a dedicated council we have worked hard to ensure that the County is in the best possible position as we emerge from this difficult time.

“It is my hope to be re-elected as mayor in October to continue to complete the important work this council has begun, and to tackle the many challenges ahead.”

Ferguson was a South Marysburgh councillor when he ran successfully for the mayor’s seat in 2018. He earned just over 50 per cent of the vote, edging fellow councillor Dianne O’Brien, with just over 40 per cent of the vote, while newcomer Richard Whiten gained just over nine per cent of the ballots cast.

O’Brien has also filed her nomination papers to seek the mayor’s seat. She had served on council for 12 years prior to the 2018 run.

UPDATE: Kyle Mayne has also entered the race for mayor. Mayne ran unsuccessfully against Ferguson in 2014 seeking the South Marysburgh councillor seat. Mayne runs a small business, which he says has grown to meet the needs of his clients, helping them with everything from handy work to creating duck calls.

Candidates filed for wards, so far, include:
Ward 1 Picton – (two seats): Phil St. Jean, Kate MacNaughton
Ward 2 Bloomfield/Hallowell – (two seats) Brad Nieman, Phil Prinzen, Sarah Moffatt
Ward 6 Sophiasburgh – (one seat) Bill Roberts
Ward 8 North Marysburgh (one seat) David Harrison
Ward 9 South Marysburgh (one seat) John Hirsch

There are no candidate papers filed as yet for:
Ward 3 Wellington  – (one seat)
Ward 4 Ameliasburgh – (three seats)
Ward 5 Athol – (one seat)
Ward 7 Hillier -(one seat)

The nomination period is between May 2 and Aug. 19. Following, Prince Edward County Clerk Catalina Blumenberg will review all nominations to prepare a certified list of candidates and declare any acclamations.

Filed Under: Local News

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Tony Scott Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2023 • All rights reserved.