All County, All the Time Since 2010 MAKE THIS YOUR PRINCE EDWARD COUNTY HOME...PAGE!  Thursday, May 23rd, 2024

Turner defends Sprint crown at Speedway

2018 Southern Ontario Sprint Champion No. 13 Cory Turner led the field to green under grey skies Saturday night at Brighton Speedway and held onto the lead to take the inaugural checkered flag on the SOS season. Photos by Rod Henderson

After a pair of season opener rain outs, No. 1 Holly Porter and 2018 champ No. 13 Cory Turner were eager to lead the field of 18 Southern Ontario Sprints to green at the Brighton Speedway, Saturday.

On the second time by Turner slid past Porter and took off. A pair of cautions and some lapped traffic slowed a furious pace but nothing was going to keep Turner from victory lane as Porter, No. 91 Ryan Turner, No. 10 Mitch Brown and No. 11J Chris Jones waged a fierce single file battle for the lead. Turner flew to victory lane with Porter in second, Ryan Turner third, Brown fourth and Jones fifth.

Four in row for No. 57 Charlie Sandercock as he continues to battle through the field of Late Models at Brighton Speedway Saturday night.

Sandercock snags fourth season win
It only took No. 77 Caley Weese two laps to grab the lead from her third starting position in the 35-lap Vanderlaan Building Products Ltd. Northeast Late Model Alliance home track race 1.

Steve Baldwin went to war with Weese for the top spot in a thrilling back and forth affair. By the 8th time by Baldwin snatched the lead and sped off while No. 57 Charlie Sandercock continued to muscle his way up from his 10th starting position into third. Sanderock went door-to-door with Baldwin, took the lead on lap 14 and never looked back as he went on to score his fourth season win. Baldwin earned a hard fought second, Weese an equally well deserved third place finish, No. 46 Brandon Mowat fourth and No. 1 Andy Mayhew fifth.

Brown bring home first dirt career win
“I can’t believe it,” were the words Linc Brown cried out as he parked his No. 99 machine in victory lane four races into his Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust career.

Having just made the switch from pavement this season Brown called the win unbelievable, but for race fans seeing was believing as Brown snapped up the lead from pole sitter No. 39 Jonah Mutton with only 7 laps of the 25-lap feature to go. Brown flew to victory lane with No. 32 Doug O’Blenis taking runner up, No. 87 Andrew Hennessy finished third, Mutton fourth and No. 12 Adam Whaley fifth.

Checkers fly for Freeman
From the drop of the green flag The Brighton Automotive Thuder Stocks treated fans to a stellar show in the Insta Panels Duel on the Dirt Race 2. No. 82 Terry Gorgerat and No. 23 Angie Kirby led the 20-car field to green in the 20-lap feature. No. 51 Mike Freeman was quick to take the lead from his fourth starting position while No. 69 Steven Stachura, No. 53 Wade Purchase and No. 17 Jeff Humphrey treated fans to a three-wide battle for third place. Freeman and Purchase went back and forth but it would be the 51 that would hang tough on the outside for the win. Purchase took second, Humphrey third, Stachura fourth and No. 03 Justin Ramsay fifth.

Daniel Dick and Kyle Gregory score stinger wins
Daniel Dick was a force to be reckoned with in his No. 22 machine in the 12-lap Quinte Septic Junior Stinger feature race. He scooped up the lead on the 4th lap and hammered down to victory lane scoring his first ever checkered flag. No. 37 Terry Blight took home second, No. 76 Brad Collar third, No. 25 Steve Darling fourth and No. 95 Ethan Schoep fifth.

Having just made the jump from junior to the Quinte Septic Senior Stinger Division No. 1 Kyle Gregory was determined to score his second win of the season. He wasted no time taking the lead and sailed to victory lane with No. 93 Jordan Pickell in second, No. 08 Brian Cross third, No. 42JR Aiden Fletcher, No. 07 Megan Golden.

Saturday, June 15th Top 5 Feature Results

Vanderlaan Building Products Late Models
1st No. 57 Charlie Sandercock; 2nd No. 5 Steve Baldwin; 3rd No. 77 Caley Weese; 4th No. 46 Brandon Mowat; 5th No. 1 Andy Mayhew

Bainer’s OilGARD Anti Rust Canadian Modifieds
1st No. 99 Linc Brown; 2nd No. 32 Doug O’Blenis; 3rd No. 87 Andrew Hennessy; 4th No. 39 Jonah Mutton; 5th No. 12 Adam Whaley

Brighton Automotive Thunder Stock
1st No. 51 Mike Freeman; 2nd No. 53 Wade Purchase; 3rd No. 17 Jeff Humphry; 4th No. 69 Steven Stachura; 5th No. 03 Justin Ramsay

Quinte Septic Tank Senior Stingers
1st No. 1 Kyle Gregory; 2nd No. 93 Jorden Pickell; 3rd No. 08 Brian Cross; 4th No. 42JR Aidan Fletcher; 5th 07 Megan Golden

Quinte Septic Tank Junior Stingers
1st No. 22 Daniel Dick; 2nd 37 Terry Blight; 3rd No. 76 Brad Collar; 4th No. 25 Steve Darling; 5th No. 95 Ethan Schoep

Up next is the Summer Smash Monster Truck Extravaganza featuring Mike Vaters II in Overkill Evolution and Matt Cody in Iron Warrior along with a full race card including Late Models, Canadian Modifieds, Thunder Stocks and Comp 4 / Mini Stocks. Adult admission is $20 and a Family Pass is $55. The green flag drops at 7pm and gates will open at 5pm. Brighton Speedway is a 1/3-mile clay stock car racing oval located on the shores of Lake Ontario in Brighton.



Filed Under: News from Everywhere ElseSports & Recreation

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.

OPP reports
lottery winners
Elizabeth Crombie Janice-Lewandoski
Home Hardware Picton Sharon Armitage

© Copyright Prince Edward County News 2024 • All rights reserved.